Week Eight: A Study in Alcott

You’re thinking “Did she steal that title from Arthur Conan Doyle?” The answer is yes. Yes I did steal it from Arthur Conan Doyle.

Here is my Sherlock Holmes doll to tell you congratulations on recognizing a thing. He is joined by Edgar Allan Poe and my Roald Dahl and Mary Poppins and Enchanted Forest Chronicles books, for reasons known only to him.

IMG_1129

This has been one of the busiest weeks of my entire life. Being busy is nice because, you know, the point of the blog

Screen shot 2013-10-03 at 8.46.46 PM

And I like feeling energetic and getting out and doing things and being active.

On the other hand, it’s really hot here and with all the walking to and from my apartment and around campus, I feel like I’m being slowly brined. I bet I am so delicious right now. Also, my new laptop arrived and I have not had time to even set it up. Also also it took me three hours this evening just to internet all the things I usually internet! I had to scroll back like 150 pages on tumblr. Did you know Breaking Bad ended? Man I feel like I didn’t get that information often enough when I emerged from my work coma.

The busy stuff is probably not going to let up next week either, but at least when it ends, I will have a birthday! We will probably be going to an hibachi grill because I really like it when chefs set towers of onion on fire and throw rice at my cleavage.

Because of the busy, I don’t have a lot of time to talk about things, but I am formulating some thoughts on LMA and politics and stuff, so when the crazy days are over that may be my topic. For now, I want to talk about Halloween. While Halloween in the South is never going to be as Halloweeny as Halloween in New England, it is admittedly nice to be able to wear a costume without thermals underneath. I am dressing as Sharknado. I will probably get very drunk and hug people a lot like last year.

Other things to be done in and around Halloween time:

  • Watch Practical Magic
  • Watch Hocus Pocus
  • Watch Sleepy Hollow (the movie and the tv show)
  • Carve pumpkins only one day before Halloween because otherwise they will be rotten pumpkin soup the day of
  • Maybe buy a little striped costume that says “Rufferee” on it and make my dog wear it and take pictures of her shame

Okay, back to work!

Fun links

Writers who exercise. They left off Simone de Beauvoir, who walked miles and miles every day, Joyce Carol Oates, who apparently writes entire books while she runs, and Louisa May Alcott herself, who, as one of my aunts pointed out, was a runner. Imagine running in all those clothes.

David Bowie’s Top 100 Books. Good stuff, not what you’d see on most top 100 lists. And like – it’s David Bowie.

The people who bet on who will win the Nobel Prize for literature, as told by a bookie.

For the linguists, listen to a story told in Proto Indo-European, aka an attempt at capturing the linguistic origin of the Indo-European family of languages.

 

6 thoughts on “Week Eight: A Study in Alcott

  1. I like the idea of hibachi grill chefs who toss rice in all directions hoping that at least some of them will land in your cleavage. Pretty cool!

    Are you going to try the Novel in a Month contest? You’re probably too busy for that but curiously I know two young men who are going to take up the challenge. Interesting.

    Your birthday stuff will be on the way asap. You cannot celebrate Halloween properly without your own zombie, you know.

    Love you.

    • I can’t wait for my felt zombie! Alex sent me a zombie doll a while ago and he definitely needs a buddy.

      I think I will try for NaNoWriMo this year. November will not be as busy as October, and I do need about 60,000 more words in my novel, so you all may be subject to my whiny updates.

      • Have you put a photo of the zombie doll that Alex sent you? I don’t remember seeing that…

        Looking forward to your NaNoWriMo results! Must share, you know.

        Love you again.

Leave a Reply

